Skip to Main Content

Indiana University Indiana University


Version Control in Dreamweaver CS4

Version Control allows you to go back in time
Version control (also known as source code management or source control) is a formal system by which changes to a set of documents are tracked and managed. Used in software and web development, law, and business, version control systems provide a historical audit trail of when changes were made, who made them, and what was changed. Version control systems make it easier for multiple people to modify the same documents without stepping on each other’s toes. And even if you’re working by yourself, version control provides an easy way to back up and have multiple versions of your documents.

In this video, we will explore what version control is and how to use it when building a website in Dreamweaver CS4:
First Frame of Video Tutorial


3 Responses to "Version Control in Dreamweaver CS4" to “Version Control in Dreamweaver CS4”

  1. Keith welch Says:

    Nice video. Unfortunately, every time I try to connect to the ProjectLocker svn server, Dreamweaver crashes. I’ve read alsewhere that Dreamweaver version control and Tortoise SVN don’t play nice – that could be the reason as I use Tortoise for my Flex projects.

  2. Amy Neymeyr Says:

    Hi Keith –

    There are several issues with the Dreamweaver CS4 Subversion integration I didn’t mention in the video (because I didn’t want to muddy the waters and it was already longer than I intended!). The current DW implementation of Subversion is a little light on the features. Here are some of the major gotchas:

    1. If you have SVN 1.5 or later installed, you’ll have to uninstall it before using subversion with DW. The DW subversion client only works with SVN 1.4. If you’re using Eclipse for your Flex projects and have Subclipse installed there … you may be using SVN 1.5 because that’s the current version!
      • I actually had TortoiseSVN installed on my machine as well – Windows Vista – but after uninstalling/reinstalling 1.4, DW worked OK
    2. If you have to delete a file, you can’t do it in Local view within Dreamweaver. In the File Panel, you’ll have to switch the view to Repository view, then delete it in the repository directly.
    3. If you have to change a file or folder’s location, it can also be tricky. The official Dreamweaver CS4 Help files say this:
      When you move the local versions of files or folders in a Subversion-controlled site, you run the risk of creating problems for other users who might be synching to the SVN repository. For example, if you move a file locally, and don’t commit that file to the repository for a few hours, another user might try to get the latest version of the file from the file’s old location. For this reason, you should always commit files back to the SVN server immediately after you’ve moved them locally.

      Files and folders remain on the SVN server until you’ve manually deleted them. So even if you move a file to a different local folder and commit it, the old version of the file remains in the previous location on the server. To avoid confusion, delete the old copies of files and folders that you’ve moved.

      When you move a file locally and commit it back to the SVN server, the file’s version history is lost.

    Hope this helps!

  3. Glenn Hartong Says:

    Thanks for the great demo Amy. I couldn’t figure out how to connect to my SVN repository for the life of me. I followed along your demo and then slapped my head! The one place I hadn’t looked was the site settings. What a great find!

    Glenn

Leave a Reply

Get Training Tips via RSS Subscribe to Entries feed or Read Comments via RSS Subscribe to Comments feed.